PVMI’s strength lies in the expertise and diverse viewpoints of its international network of scholars.

The faculty and doctoral students affiliated with PVMI conduct research at leading universities around the world, including:

  • Babson College
  • Bocconi University
  • Brigham Young University
  • Cambridge University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Catholic University of Korea
  • Columbia University
  • Ècole Polytechnique
  • Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Oxford University
  • Seoul National University
  • Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Swiss Institute of Technology
  • Tokyo University
  • Tsinghua University
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Venice
  • The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

Affiliated Organizations

PVMI Director

John Paul MacDuffie
PVMI Director John Paul MacDuffie is a Professor of Management at the Wharton School and a Mack Institute Core Team member.

Professor John Paul MacDuffie of Wharton’s Management Department is the director of PVMI. Professor MacDuffie’s affiliation with IMVP began with his doctoral studies at MIT, where his research with John Krafcik on the determinants of high-performance manufacturing provided global benchmarking evidence of the competitive advantages of lean production. His research addresses the integration of social and technical systems within lean production; the contribution of human resource/work practices to achieving dynamic performance improvements; collaborative problem-solving between automakers and suppliers to improve quality and reliability; modularity initiatives and their consequences for product and organizational architecture; and the central role of automakers as system integrators and the impact on industry structure and competitiveness.

To launch the new PVMI, Professor MacDuffie is supported by PVMI administrative director Rachel Szkaradnik and works closely with the Mack Institute administrative staff, executive director, and Co-directors.